Wadjet Eye Games

Author Topic: Problem with windowed direct3d 9  (Read 6326 times)

Offline 2disbetter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Problem with windowed direct3d 9
« on: April 02, 2011, 07:10:12 AM »
I keep getting a direct3d crash when trying to run the game in windowed mode in windows 7 64. Has anyone figured out to get this working. I would like to use direct3d as it does not downgrade aerial effect while playing. Thanks for any help!

2d

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2346
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with windowed direct3d 9
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2011, 08:49:51 AM »
Hi 2disbetter.  Love the screenname. ;)

Unfortunately, the game can not run in Direct3D mode, as it uses a plugin (for the rain effect) that conflicts with it.  Could you explain what you mean by "aerial effect"? 

-Dave

Offline 2disbetter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with windowed direct3d 9
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2011, 09:57:35 AM »
Hi Dave, thanks for the feedback. After looking up the error code for more info i was close to thinking that.  ;D

Concerning the aerial effect I mentioned I was referring the Aero effects in Vista and 7 (transperency, 3d desktop, etc.) Its nothing major just an issue with sudo OCD obsessions. ;)

I'm really enjoying the game so far. Unfortunately my vnc servers video polling driver doesn't seem to read the directdraw api. Meh, guess I can't have it all!

Thanks for the quick response!

2d

PS: I really feel that way (cocnerning my screen name). Sadly in the mad rush to do 3d the industry lost so much of its awesomeness.

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2346
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with windowed direct3d 9
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2011, 10:03:40 AM »
Ah, yeah.  The game is 16 bit so Windows 7 has trouble running it in a window.  You *can* run it, but you have to change your desktop color settings to 16 bit.  Fullscreen might be the only option.