Wadjet Eye Games

Author Topic: Graphics mode error - easy fix!  (Read 17482 times)

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« on: May 07, 2010, 10:42:12 AM »
This happens on computers with older graphics cards. If you receive this error message:



Here is how to fix it!

1 - Go into the game’s directory and run the “winsetup.exe” file, You will see a section called “graphics driver.”

2 - The graphics driver is currently set to “Direct3D 9.”  Set it to  “DirectDraw”

3 - Hit the save button

That's it!  Some of the cutscenes might be slightly pixellated (more noticeable in the later levels) but it won't affect gameplay at all. 

Offline madman32395

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 05:53:06 PM »
what about the steam users? i cannot seem to find these?

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2011, 05:55:17 PM »
I'm not sure how Steam works, myself.  I assume the files are stored on your computer somewhere?  Do a search for the file winsetup.exe.  Hopefully you can find it that way.

Offline madman32395

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 06:14:57 PM »
nope, did a search came back with nothing.

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2011, 07:52:53 PM »

Hm.  I'm afraid I don't know enough about Steam to know where they store the game files.  They've got to be somewhere on the computer.  Maybe try contacting Steam?  Failing that, are there any Steam users here that know how this works?

-Dave

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2011, 10:37:14 AM »
And if you can't find the files, no problem.  Contact me privately and I'll hook you up with a copy of the game from my server.  You should be able to access the file with no problem, then.

Offline wizzim

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2011, 03:28:25 PM »
Hello,

on Steam, the installation files are located in :

<Steam Installation Folder>\steamapps\common\puzzle bots

With "Steam Installation folder" being, by default : C:\Program Files\Steam.

Also, on a support note. I had a problem on my first launch : I had no sound.
Running winsetup.exe and selecting, under "Digital Sound", "DirectSound (Hardware Mixer)" fixed the bug for me.

Otherwise, so far so good. This is a pretty little game. I love the gentle humor :)

Cheerio
W.

Offline fraxyl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2011, 12:11:40 PM »
I had this error and I have a fairly modern graphics card. Or to clarify, I got this error upon coming here and discovering that there was a settings program and after I had selected 4X AA, it set the resolution to 2560x1920 when my monitor has a max res of 1920x1200. Rather baffling! Had no idea I could change any of the settings until I came here either. Would be nice to be taken to the settings program after running it for the first time in Steam. I also noticed that in Steam, the default settings make the mouse lag quite a bit, and you might want to default it to running in a window rather than fullscreen.

Other than that, I am enjoying the game!
« Last Edit: October 10, 2011, 12:13:56 PM by fraxyl »

Offline ChaiHai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2012, 07:36:56 PM »
I came across this error, but it was a false error.o_O whenever I tried to edit the win file, my desktop would crash (windows explorer would restart). But, if I just ignored it and played the game anyway, it ran fine. D:? I'm using windows 7, and the game was resonance. I beat the game just fine. So...... o.o

Offline SirPrimalform

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2013, 07:55:14 AM »
I had this error and I have a fairly modern graphics card. Or to clarify, I got this error upon coming here and discovering that there was a settings program and after I had selected 4X AA, it set the resolution to 2560x1920 when my monitor has a max res of 1920x1200. Rather baffling!

I know this post is old and you're probably long gone, but this is pretty easy to explain. You didn't select 4x Anti Aliasing, you selected 4x scaling. There are no anti aliasing options for AGS games, only scaling options. There are some scaling options using the HQ filter which people sometimes mistakenly refer to as AA, but they're not.

Offline chumley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics mode error - easy fix!
« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2013, 06:57:02 PM »
I think it might also be down to the type of monitor u have too.
I have a really old lcd sony vaio (maximum is 1024x768) with an AMD 5450 card.
I pretty sure it's the monitor that is causing this problem for me ,rather than my card ,which is old ,but not that old.