Wadjet Eye Games

Author Topic: Technical Issue  (Read 12333 times)

Offline Frankie Teardrop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Technical Issue
« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2014, 01:19:49 PM »
Thanks Yuri. The videocard could be really the problem. I have a NVIDIA GeForce GT 320M.

Offline Frankie Teardrop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Technical Issue
« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2014, 02:13:04 PM »
'Cause it still bugs me that I have black bars around the game & the playable screen is so little I googled a bit & it seems I'm not the only one with the problem.

"One thing worth noting is that the game is set to fullscreen by default and it doesn’t upscale to higher resolutions, meaning you’ll be playing with black bars around the edges of the screen."
- http://www.cosmosgaming.com/gaming/gaming-reviews/golden-wake-pc/

"There are no resolution options, forcing the game to run in a tiny section of the screen surrounded by four huge black bars."
- http://www.criticalgamer.co.uk/2014/10/09/a-golden-wake-review/

I wonder that I am still the only one who complained about it.

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: Technical Issue
« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2014, 11:20:12 AM »
Hm. Reading the thread in more detail. In an earlier post you said that the screen was "a little smaller" then fullsize. So it's not super tiny? I can't see your monitor so  I am guessing that this is the intended design. The game was made at 320 x 200, and in order to keep the proper pixel proportions it scales itself up to fill your monitor using the exact same aspect ratio. (640 x 400,  960 x 600, etc). If that doesn't slot into your monitor size precisely, black bars will be added to the edges.

Is that what is happening?  The playable area is "slightly smaller" then full size? If so, that's as designed. To do otherwise would stretch out the pixels and make everything look ugly. Sorry about that!
« Last Edit: October 20, 2014, 11:21:54 AM by DaveGilbert »

Offline Frankie Teardrop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Technical Issue
« Reply #18 on: October 20, 2014, 11:47:48 AM »
Thanks for the answer. Didn't know that it was on purpose. I was just wondering 'cause the other Wadjet Eye (or Ben Jordan or any adventure that I played) games didn't have that bars. So yeah the playable area is "slightly smaller" & not "tiny small". Sadly I cannot change the ratio of my monitor to 640 x 400 or 960 x 600. But thanks for your help. Then I will play the game with bars.

PS: Sorry when I was a bit unclear about my problem.

PPS: Thanks for the Wadjet Eye Games Mr. Gilbert. When I played 'The Shivah' - back then as an illegal download to be honest - in 2009 it gave my faith in adventures back. Now I buy everything with the Wadjet Eye Games label on it.

PPPS: Still curious about the fond name.

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: Technical Issue
« Reply #19 on: October 20, 2014, 11:51:26 AM »
I think the Ben Jordan games were done in 320 x 240 resolution so that might fit your monitor better, but that's just a guess. In any case, I hope you enjoy the game!

Offline jfRRT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Technical Issue
« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2014, 04:41:37 PM »
I have a similar issue.
Running Win7 with onboard Intel Graphics.
The "top" of the screen is at the bottom of the monitor. In other words, the inventory, save, load, icons, etc are cut in half and located at the bottom of the monitor. I have to be very careful when I try to click on any of the things that should be at the top.
I tried changing screen resolution - no help.
Is there a fix?

Offline Rocka3030

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Technical Issue
« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2014, 06:01:14 PM »
Have you tried ALT + CTRL + F11 to fix your resolution? I use this a lot to adjust my game play to full screen because my monitor that I'm currently using is a 32" widescreen.
Hope this helps out :)