Wadjet Eye Games

Author Topic: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug  (Read 4919 times)

Offline MMPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
(MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« on: February 24, 2014, 11:30:38 AM »
Hello.
I got the game from humble bundle and play it on mac osx 10.9.1 via steam. I got to the weather tower part. After reaching the "balcony" in the engine room and plugging in the extension cord in the conduit I can't drop the other end through the open hatch on the left. I pick up the end from the floor and click on the opening but nothing happens, and when I click rapidly Azriel just says "it's already open".  I think the same problem was described here already http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2642187 but the answers just say what's supposed to happen, not how to fix the bug.

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2014, 11:53:11 AM »
It's been awhile (and I will have to check the source code if I am wrong), but did you click the USE interaction with the plug while it's on the floor? Does the tooltip say "use extension cord" or is the tooltip blank?

Offline MMPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2014, 12:15:29 PM »
USE meaning the hand icon? Yes, I did and it says "Use plug on opening" when I move the mouse over the hatch. Interestingly after loading the save I have to unplug and replug the cord in the conduit before I can click the end laying on the floor.

Offline MMPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2014, 10:52:00 AM »
Wasn't clear in the last post :P It says Use plug on opening but when I click nothing happens or when I double click Azriel says "it's already open" as explained in the first post.

Offline richbradshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2014, 03:07:09 PM »
I'm also having problems here.

I've watched a video to see what you are meant to do, but am having the same problem.

I can plug the extension cord into the conduit, then can click use on the plug, but then clicking on the opening does nothing.

After that, the text 'Use plug on' sticks around - e.g. I can move down the ladder with that text still showing - despite the text being there, I can interact normally. After attempting to use something else, the text disappears.

I'd love to carry on - it's disappointing to be stopped from playing this far in!

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2014, 03:15:16 PM »
richbradshaw: Are you also on the mac? Or on the PC version?

If this is strictly a Mac issue (which I hope it is), have you tried emailing the humble bundle guys? They are the ones who made the port, so they would be better equiped to answer this question than we are. You can write them at support@humblebundle.com.

EDIT: and apologies for the slow responses. We're currently in crunch mode on Blackwell so I don't check this forum as often as I should!

Offline richbradshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2014, 09:06:52 AM »
Yes, I'm on a mac as well. I'll try them.

Offline MMPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2014, 04:36:31 PM »
@richbradshaw: If you get a response please post it here or pm me.  :)

@DaveGilbert: No problem, thank you for your help nonetheless
PS. Any chance for mac-friendly Blackwell on Steam?  :D (I know it's available on GoG.

Offline richbradshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2014, 05:58:09 AM »
I've sent a save game and explained bug to a developer involved in porting the game, so hopefully they'll be able to work something outů

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2014, 10:39:28 AM »
@richbradshaw: If you get a response please post it here or pm me.  :)

@DaveGilbert: No problem, thank you for your help nonetheless
PS. Any chance for mac-friendly Blackwell on Steam?  :D (I know it's available on GoG.

The GOG version is simply the PC version wrapped with WINE. Steam doesn't allow that, sadly. But a native Mac version is coming. Hopefully this year.

Offline MMPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (MAC) Weather Tower Plug Bug
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2014, 01:59:29 PM »
Thank you both :)