Wadjet Eye Games

Author Topic: Problems with Primordia installer  (Read 3059 times)

Offline CountCant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Problems with Primordia installer
« on: December 07, 2012, 08:35:51 AM »
Does anyone else have problems opening the Primordia installer? It takes forever on my desktop PC and occasionally even seems to stall it. I'm on my third or fourth try and this time I got as far as the UAC confirmation, but after that - still nothing. (I managed to install the game on my netbook by being very very patient, but it doesn't run as smoothly as I was hoping it would, so I'm currently trying the desktop.)

Also, if I right-click on the installer in Windows Explorer, the Explorer stalls, too.

My guess is the installer contains a LOT of small data packages or whatever and the CPU is very busy unpacking all of them. I know my PC is rather low-end for today's standard (Vista 32-bit, dualcore 2.1GHz, 3-4 gb RAM, onboard graphics), but am I the only one experiencing this issue?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2012, 08:48:38 AM by CountCant »

Offline JBark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Primordia installer
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 10:09:29 AM »
I had this same problem, I tracked it down to Microsoft Security Essentials having a hard time scanning the contents of the exe.  If you look in the C:\Windows\Temp folder, you'll see it continuously extract the exe to a tmp file over and over again.

To workaround it, I added PrimordiaSetup.exe to the exclusions in MSE.  You can also turn off realtime scanning while installing.

Never had this problem with MSE before, so not sure why it doesn't like this file.

Offline DaveGilbert

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2215
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Primordia installer
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2012, 11:02:13 AM »
Some others have had this problem. We are thinking it's because the installer EXE is so large (it's over a gig!). I'll see if I can find a better way to wrap it.

Offline CountCant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Primordia installer
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2012, 11:41:37 AM »
Turning off MSE's realtime scanning seems to have done the trick, thanks!  :)