Wadjet Eye Games

Author Topic: Do you need an engine to make a point/click RPG?  (Read 10667 times)

Offline nogert

• View Profile
Do you need an engine to make a point/click RPG?
« on: April 08, 2012, 08:19:17 AM »
Hi I'm a long time point and click player, a great fan of the old Lucas arts classics. I just started playing gemeni rue and it's really inspired me to start working on my own point and click rpg. But, I have a few problems, there seems to be a lack of resources based on point and click rpg's and I would really appreciate if someone could help me with a few questions!

First off, do you need an external engine to make point and click rpg's? Or is it possible to make them from scratch (bare in mind it's only a two man team)

If it's better to use engines, what does Wadjeteye games use? And where can I find more information about other engines?

Thanks for reading.

Offline Rognik

• View Profile
Re: Do you need an engine to make a point/click RPG?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 01:56:17 AM »
I don't make games, but I know a lot of smaller companies use a premade engine as their base. Making your own engine tends to be a long and time-extensive method (not that I know much about making one). I believe most of Wadjet Eye Games use the AGD engine for their point-and-click games. I've seen a bunch of smaller RPGs made, but I don't know what engine they use. Hope that gives you a starting point.

Offline DaveGilbert

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 10:04:27 AM »
There's no engine that we know of, otherwise we'd be using it! There's RPG Maker, which lets you make old-school Japanese RPGs in the style of Final Fantasy 6. They are mostly keyboard controlled, but they do have mouse support.

Offline nogert

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2012, 10:17:42 AM »